It’s Not About You

The irony is that while God doesn’t need us but still wants us, we desperately need God but don’t really want Him most of the time. -Francis Chan

      God doesn’t need us he wants us. We are the ones who need God. These are simple truths that I often fail to grasp.

      Sometimes I find myself thinking that I give God so much, so much of my time and money and talents. I love God, but he couldn’t possibly need anything more from me. What I fail to understand when I have this attitude is that the things that we do (reading the bible, praying, Sabbath) are for our benefit not Gods. It’s not Him who gains when we do these things, it’s us. He wants us to do them because he loves us, not because he benefits when we do.

              When I am self-focused and prideful I start to believe that I am doing God a favor when I obey Him. It’s like I think that He is lacking until I come along and read my bible, and the BAM he is just SO happy and he should be SO grateful that I spent five minutes of my day focused on Him. In reality, the life that God calls us to live, a life fully devoted to Him, is completely for our own benefit. John 15 says that apart from Christ we can bear no fruit, that we can do nothing.

            We can do NOTHING, but in our pride we still insist on making it about ourselves. We get so caught up in ourselves and our own lives that we forget what is actually important.

            When Peter focused on Jesus he was able to walk on water, but when he turned his attention to himself and his own fear he sank. Apart from God we can do nothing. We are nothing. Fortunately, if we don’t let our pride get in the way and focus on God, as John 15 says, we will bear much fruit. If we live a life that is God-focused not self-focused God will be able to use us and work through us. So, like Colossians 3 says, we should fix our eyes on the things above and not on earthy things, including ourselves.

            Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. -Colossians 3:1-3

 

 

Leave a Reply

