God is Enough

God is enough is a phrase I’ve said countless times but almost always fail to live out. It’s really easy to say, but a lot harder to actually believe. With the world, and sometimes even the church, living like God isn’t enough it’s difficult not to live the same way. There always seems to be more things to do and buy and have. God is enough for me, but what about …? Isn’t that also important?

I say that God fulfills me, but practically I live like it’s not true. Instead of being fully satisfied in God alone I turn to relationships and grades and success and so many other things to find fulfillment. Without these things would God be enough for me? I want to say yes, but I don’t know if I honestly can. If I really think about it, instead of living like He is enough, I usually live like I need more.

I act like I don’t know any of the things I have through Christ. I so often ignore that Ephesians 1 says God has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in Christ. That we were chosen, adopted, and given His grace. That in Christ we have redemption and forgiveness. That He reveals wisdom, understanding, and His will to us.

Even though I have these things already, I’m still constantly searching elsewhere for more. I don’t know if it’s that I don’t fully grasp all I have or if I don’t believe I have these things or if I just selfishly want more than I really need. At some point all three have probably been true.

I hate that I live this way and believe these things. I want to truly believe that God is enough, but on my own there is no way for me to do that. No matter how hard I try to make myself believe things or live a certain way I can’t. I’m prone to trying to do things in my own strength, but the only thing that comes from that is exhaustion.

When I fail to believe God is enough, instead of just trying harder to believe it, I should bring my need to God. I should pray what Paul prayed for the Ephesians in chapter 1:

I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms    –  Ephesians 1:18-20

Only God can give me an understanding of his power and what I have in Him so that I can fully understand that He is enough. I pray that I will always grow in understanding of Him and that I will truly come to believe that He is enough.

Leave a Reply

