God’s Heart and My Heart

In France our bible study is learning about God’s heart for the world and His desire for the knowledge of His glory to spread over the whole earth. In the beginning God created people and commanded them to be fruitful and multiply. He wanted to fill the world with people whom He loved and who loved Him and brought Him glory. However, man’s relationship with God was broken at the fall and God’s perfect plan for the world was distorted.

In spite of this, God still loved the world. In Genesis 12 He promises Abraham that He would bless the nations through him. This blessing eventually resulted in Jesus who came to bring forgiveness and reconcile us to God. When Jesus came he commanded his followers to “make disciples of all nations” (Matthew 28:19). Jesus reveals here that God’s heart for the world hasn’t changed. He still wants everyone to know and glorify Him. Furthermore, Jesus says not only that we should go to the nations, but also that the gospel will reach all the nations (Matthew 24:14). Because God desires for every nation to hear the good news, the good news will be brought to every nation.

In Revelation it says that at the end there will be people “from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and before the Lamb” (Revelation 7:9). However, currently 1/3 of the world’s population lives in unreached people groups (people groups where there are less than 2% native believers). Despite God desires for all the nations to know and love Him, right now 85-95% of missionaries serve in reached areas. Even though people from all nations will one day stand before the throne, at this time only 5.4% of money given to mission is used for foreign missions and only 0.37% of that 5.4% is used to reach the unreached.

When I learned these statistics, I realized that my actions and thoughts demonstrate that my heart does not align with God’s heart when it comes to reaching the nations. The people of the world who don’t know God are so important to Him, but I rarely even think about them. Reaching those who don’t know God and having them come to know and love Him is God’s priority and deepest desire. Even though I am currently serving in an unreached country, when I look at the way I live my life and the things that I pray about, it’s clear that I don’t have the same desire as God to reach the nations. I want to have the same heart that God does for the nations. I’m praying that God will give me a better understanding of His heart,  transform my desires into His own, and help me make it my priority to reach the unreached by praying for laborers, giving generously, and going if asked.

                After this I looked, and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. And they cried out in a loud voice: “Salvation belongs to our God, who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb.”  Revelation 7:9-10

// //

Leave a Reply

