Chicken and Rice Hotdish

My roommate and I made this yummy recipe the other day. The original recipe came from Tasty Kitchen. It was quick, simple, and really yummy! The best part of this recipe is that it contains ingredients that I typically keep at home. I didn’t have to make a lot of substitutions or go out of my way to buy a bunch of weird foods I would never use again.

Image

 

Ingredients:

2 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts (cooked and shredded)

4 cups Cooked Brown Rice (We used rice-a-roni which worked really well)

¾ cups Frozen Corn

1 bag of frozen peas

15 ounces, fluid Can Black Beans, Drained And Rinsed

1 cup Plain Greek Yogurt (or Sour Cream)

½ cups Salsa

Approx. 2 cup Cheddar Cheese + some for topping (The original called for only a cup, but I love cheese! To make the recipe healthier you can use the original 1 C or even less)

2 Tablespoons onion powder or other seasoning

 

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°

2. Cook the rice and the chicken

3. In a large bowl combine all the ingredients. Mix until the yogurt and cheese is evenly distributed.

4. Transfer to oven safe pan and top with cheese

5. Bake 20-25 minutes

The original recipe included chilies. Making it without the chilies was still delicious, but when I make it again I’ll probably include them to add some flavor. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

